Review of Catch Surf 5’6″ Y Quad Fish Surfboards

By on September 17, 2013

Board Riders Review found Catch Surfboards owner, George Arzente at The Point at San Onofre. He was riding his 5’6″ Y Quad Fish and gave us a quick review of…

23 Comments

  1. Wr3cKaGevZ

    September 17, 2013 at 3:07 am

    i just looked at the website and it has a lot of cool boards and ill probaly be surfing at rondoldo beach or santa montica in California.

  2. BoardRidersReview

    September 17, 2013 at 3:49 am

    @Wr3cKaGevZ Where abouts in Cali are you. There are a couple of shops that sell good used boards that work from Shortboards to Funboards. Look @ Stewart Surfboards and check out the “Fartknocker” a super fun shortboard. Get around a 6″0 or slightly shorter. And also look at the 7’6″ Hydro hull fun board. You will catch so many waves with that board! I have ridden it in tiny surf to 15″+ and worked!

  3. Wr3cKaGevZ

    September 17, 2013 at 4:04 am

    My budget is around 200 too 400 dollars and I will be surfing at california.Yea i was thinking if that board was going to be hard to star off on.But i do know how to buggie board and catch a wave on my stomach but just not stand up,thats why i was trying to go for something like that.I usaully go big or go home lol.

  4. BoardRidersReview

    September 17, 2013 at 4:12 am

    I was just looking at the board you were talking about on the Isle website. If you are just beginning, you would struggle on that board and not know it. There are much better boards out there that work well and are really fun. What is your budget and where do you plan on surfing?? The idea is to catch waves and that equals fun. (I may test ride a 5’5 twin fin and then go to a 10′ board in one session and catch a ton of waves. Fun!)

  5. Wr3cKaGevZ

    September 17, 2013 at 4:38 am

    Thanks man i was also looking at an 6’6 Isle Shortboard E-Core Epoxy Surfboard-Green and i was wondering how you think that one would be too.lol sorry for the questions its just that im a beginner surfer and im having troubles on which one too chose

  6. BoardRidersReview

    September 17, 2013 at 4:58 am

    It should work very well for you, super fun size to ride at any skill level!
    Good idea to give the boys at Catch Surf a call and get their input.

  7. Wr3cKaGevZ

    September 17, 2013 at 5:22 am

    Hey man i might be getting a surf board and its a Quad Fish E-Core Epoxy Surfboard-Grey and its 6’6” and im around 176 ponds and about 5’11”, do you think that would be a good surf board for me??please reply back and tell me if these type of surf boards are good to surf with thanks.

  8. loganisthanicertwin

    September 17, 2013 at 5:47 am

    $400??! I’ll pass and get an actual surfboard.

  9. Surf Cardiff

    September 17, 2013 at 6:35 am

    I am 6’6″ and 240. Would the 6’6 YQuad work for me. I have a 6 10 epoxy quad fish but like the idea of a quality soft board. Are you planning on doing other types of soft boards (larger shortboard style hybrid type of boards. I think there is a market for that with us older, heavier guys)
    Thanks

  10. Kouranz

    September 17, 2013 at 7:10 am

    That board looks like a rubber toy.

  11. Julien Kann

    September 17, 2013 at 7:13 am

    two words. Rusty DWART pick that thing up its magic

  12. too00oom

    September 17, 2013 at 8:10 am

    you should send it back they will probably repair it or send you a new one

  13. surfapoluza

    September 17, 2013 at 9:03 am

    could i just glue it together with super glue

  14. NewHopEPodcast

    September 17, 2013 at 9:06 am

    Would this board catch knee high to mabye below knee high waves? someone please comment back im trying to buy one and the waves in FL dont always get gnarly.

  15. garzente

    September 17, 2013 at 9:24 am

    Call our shop line at 949-218-0428. You can also email us via our website. Please provide the following info: order # if purchased via our site (for surf shop purchase: date of purchase, location of purchase, board model and size), your full name, address and phone. The older versions made by Tom before Catch Surf had some stringer issues and the sun would wrinkle skin. Tom was still in development stage. We beefed the stringers and developed our own skin w/UV protectant that does not wrinkle.

  16. garzente

    September 17, 2013 at 9:44 am

    Hey Ryan,

    Can you email us your order number (go to “Contact Us” on our site)? This will help us pull the appropriate info on your board.

    If it’s under warranty, you can send it in and we will repair or replace it for for free. And even it’s not under warranty, you can still send it in and we will fix it for free. So basically, get it to us and we will fix it better than new and get it back to you ASAP. We can fix in about a day.

    Thanks and stay stoked!
    George @ Catch Surf

  17. surfapoluza

    September 17, 2013 at 10:06 am

    I got “the one” for christmas and ive used it maby 5 times and the foam on the rails is seperating from the boardin some places. Is there any way i could repair it? Or should I send it back.

  18. Trace747

    September 17, 2013 at 10:47 am

    where is the vid of him riding it @ san o? come on now.

  19. hang10bro

    September 17, 2013 at 11:06 am

    I ike the boards I have two. Called George played phone tag. Have not heard back since. One board has broken stringer (defective craftsmanship) Both boards are cracked and have a heavy wrinkle on deck. They both suck water and have a continuous drip.

  20. surfermaverick

    September 17, 2013 at 11:16 am

    What stores are these boards sold at?

  21. garzente

    September 17, 2013 at 12:11 pm

    I asked this guy to send photos, copy of a receipt, something to prove he bought a board and it was damaged. I even called the surf shop he claimed to have bought it at and they said the boards they ordered were fine. He never sent us anything, just emails with personal insults. I offered to repair for free. I even gave him my personal cell and email and he never contacted me to resolve. And instead he tries to bash our boards on youtube. Not cool.

  22. garzente

    September 17, 2013 at 12:16 pm

    Our boards are the finest soft surfboards you can buy, both in terms of performance and durability. We warranty the boards and stand by them 100%. We have sold thousands and have had only a handful of issues, all of which we repaired or replaced for FREE.

  23. lalaboards

    September 17, 2013 at 12:48 pm

    What a raging piece of shit.God save us!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>